Part 1: Debunking criticism about me from NUS BSC Conference 2013

Well worth reading

5 pillars and 6 colours

1. ‘She talks about feminism too much.’
2. ‘She talks too much about LGBT issues.’
3. ‘She needs to talk more about Black issues.’
4. ‘Her politics are dodgy.’
5. ‘NOLS are backing her.’
6. ‘She’s divisive.’

These are just some of the feedback that my campaign team gave me from the NUS Black Students’ Campaign with regards to some people’s perceptions about my candidacy in the Black Students’ Officer elections.

Here are my responses:

1. ‘She talks about feminism too much.’

Feminism is the only antidote to patriarchy. Feminism liberates us all from oppression.

2. ‘She talks too much about LGBT issues.’

Well, I would be worried and expect to receive a severe backlash from Black LGBT students if I didn’t discuss and act on these issues considering I am the LGBT women’s representative on the Campaign’s committee…

3. ‘She needs to talk more about Black issues.’

This suggests…

View original post 607 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

