Colon cancer

I’ve had some disturbing news related to the above headline. In the 90’s my aunt died from colon cancer, my grandfather died from cancer and several other family members as well.

Last year my dad had a really bad cancer scare he had a massive tumour which nearly killed him. They removed the cancer and some polyps he has been on a special diet due to the amount of his intestine they had to remove. He also had to have his appendix removed they also carried out genetic testing and his results have come back. Dad has a genetic anomaly which means his cancer was caused by a defect sadly this means we all need to be tested.

My families quite big so its a huge shock for us all I’ve already had a cancer scare when I was a kid my chances of having cancer sit around 16% if any of us have this gene then the chances of having cancer jump to about 50%

It sucks however I intend to live my life as well as I can granted I haven’t written a poem in ages way too much to think about at the moment.

 

Am I scared? Yes but what am I supposed to do about it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Colon cancer

  1. [ Smiles ] Hey, relax and enjoy life.

    Having the so-called cancer gene is not a 100% guarantee that you are going to get cancer.

    Eat well, get lots of exercise, get lots of rest and be happy.

Leave a Reply

